James Beard Foundation’s All-American Eats

To celebrate the fifth anniversary of SchoolHouse Restaurant & Tavern, Ryan and Michelle Jackson commissioned photography that could help tell the story of their business, and its unique location. Originally built as Frankwood School in 1890, the space sits just a few miles west of the entrance to Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. Rebuilt in its current brick back in 1921, SchoolHouse retains details from the various iterations its seen over the last 90+ years, including school desks, drinking fountains, and class photos, but Chef Ryan’s focus is on the menu. “We put great thought into developing each menu item. Every ingredient has a purpose. Every dish is hand crafted.”